How to proceed with old apple trees?

Christobel

Question

I asked a tree surgeon to prune these old apple trees last winter, and a lot was taken off (much more than I expected). This is how they look now. I’m not sure what to do now in order to restore their shape? Really appreciate any advice. I am a complete novice, but love these old trees. 

555F5C7C-C61F-4FB4-BD8A-944E32C4E12B.jpeg

4420AC82-7DF2-414D-BC81-11709D3620E8.jpeg

7B6A73C5-4367-4F96-B12B-A421CDF99FF8.jpeg

5E4D09DA-D6B6-4814-B3FF-D52220047A10.jpeg

7D6F0AD1-8A2D-462D-BA3A-7D9AA11B7A8A.jpeg

Tree surgeons rarely know how to prune apple trees but they do look better than usual. 

I would remove about two thirds of those new shoots keeping the healthiest looking ones that radiate away from the trunk. 

Upright shoots will tend to continue to grow strongly upwards with little fruit. 

Ideally you would keep any at 45 degrees as they will fruit best without being too droopy. 

Generally they will crop on two year old growth and older so not such a big crop this year but will improve the following year. Aim to do the same next year so you continuously replace the branches over 5 years or so. 

As they have already been pruned hard they are very stimulated to vegetative growth I wouldn't be reducing any to 3 or 4 buds. They will just grow again like mad next year. 

General rule is if you are going to cut a branch off cut it right off, reducing them just ends up like a pollarded lime with no fruit. 

• Like 4

Yes I've learned we ought only to be taking off 25% of growth per year so when they're old and overgrown, they need a steady prune over 3 years! Requires some patience when pruning and I've certainly took more off than 25% for clients in the past so easier said than done and best achieved on your own trees or repeat work by a trusted contractor.