Cc or hp

Tom Hall

I have been asking various people who i consider to be my superiors this question and i am struggling to get a sensible answer!

I am not a mechanically minded person so this sort of thing is out of my comfort zone.:confused1:

when buying a saw and you have 2 competitors so closely matched one has a slightly higher cc but the other has slightly higher horsepower, what are the advantages to both. I suppose what i am asking is what is hp and what is cc at the end of the day, please don't laugh at my ignorance

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

cc is engine size

hp is the power out put

with the bigger cc machines comes more weight, then you start to think about power to weight ratio. Bigger cc generally better for running bigger bars

so its a heavy bugger with x amount of power, then another model lighter with the same power or more would have a better power to weight ratio

the bigger the cc the more hp 'usually'

to help with answers, what models of saws are you looking at?

I would probably go with slightly higher cc as the smaller one will be working harder to produce the extra horsepower.(ready to be shot down by people who know better:thumbup:)

QUOTE=Tom Hall;1231662]I have been asking various people who i consider to be my superiors this question and i am struggling to get a sensible answer!

I am not a mechanically minded person so this sort of thing is out of my comfort zone.:confused1:

when buying a saw and you have 2 competitors so closely matched one has a slightly higher cc but the other has slightly higher horsepower, what are the advantages to both. I suppose what i am asking is what is hp and what is cc at the end of the day, please don't laugh at my ignorance

HP measures power, which is what gets work done. CC measures, quite literally, cylinder displacement, which in and of itself does not translate into getting work done.