1. 1. VAT registered

• Registered having reached the threshold
    • Registered before reaching threshold
    • not registered

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Ben, I registered when I exceeded the threshold. It is on a rolling twelve month period so its worth keeping an eye on it. I originally thought it was based on financial year but its not, because of this I did exceed it a little earlier than I thought.I have voted!

Cheers Nick

Thanks for your input guys just interested as someone mentioned about going VAT registered before the threshold especially as im buying a new motor and setting up with some tools, although i mostly just climb for other companys do some training and very occasionally get my own work in it would not really affect who i work for as the majority are VAT reg anyway

I'm not vat registered yet, though I work for a few company's that are. I'm in my first year of trading as a company rather than a sole trader/climber for other tree gangs and casually employing a couple of staff. Still think I will be below the vat bracket, well I hope I will be as a lot of my work is with home-owners and the way things are round my area with so many tree surgeons trying to service such a small area, prices have reduced like mad, £700 worth of work is now only £500 and so on. The last thing I want to be doing is adding vat on then I would be increasing my prices when I'm having to drop them as they already had 2 cheaper quotes!

Speak to your accountant, im in the process of going registered and im pretty sure i will be able to claim back 3 years worth of vat for kit i have purchased!

So no need to register early as you may be able to claim it all back at a later date when your turnover is at the threshold. Also think about the extra paper work and accountancy fees!