What good form when it comes to Bull***t?

skyhuck

I am somewhat new to the world forums and as such am a little naive with regard to protocol and good form.

Since finding this site I have gone back and read most of the old threads and keep up to date with new threads,I have found that as you read different members posts you get an idea of their work situation,firm size,experience etc.And the more experience,etc,that people have the more weight the advice carry's,IMO,and this resource of shared knowledge and experience is a fantastic aid to our working lives.

But I have also noticed that on occasion a member will put up a post containing information that totally contradicts information in an earlier post,such as number of staff,vehicles,chippers,etc,or years of experience,to name a few.

I find this very annoying as persons reading that post without reading the earlier one may give the advice more credence than it deserves as they think that that member is doing very well so there advice will really help them.

But I also find it annoying as I dislike dishonesty!

I know I am not the only one to have noticed this,but what tends to happen is the people do not refer to the contradiction,they may make sarcastic comments that then tend to turn into a slanging match which helps no one and those who are unaware of the contradictions think someone is being picked on.

So what I need to know is,is it "bad form" to simply point out to the offender that what they have put contradicts an earlier post and as such they are either lying now or were lying then. Or should you simply ignore it and move on?

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

if im honest i dont think it would be considered bad form.