Concrete shed floor

ballibeg

Looking at the jobs here mine seems tiny! Still it's my first concrete job, hampered by lack off any knowledge or experience!

Floor is 6m x 4m. Needs to hold the tractor up on stands and also be smooth for kids uses. Planning on 5 inch depth and unsure if needs rebar. Plan to just fill would leave me no boards to use to level or could I just fill and float? Added complication can't get concrete truck closer than .5 mile away so need to bring in by dumper I guess. Also thinking what can I set in concrete for secure anchors.

1382775835712.jpg.f0847757eeca9a1202fd5a67eda53a17.jpg

1382775853288.jpg.ffc5918b3f81cb6ee3c7d90c41cf3d49.jpg

As I'm a beginner I'm asking for your top tips please!

Dave

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would go 6 inches and use re bar, as it's outside I would give it a brush finish as opposed to smooth, bit more grip when it's icy, put a level mark on the wall and transfer it to the other walls if your not using boards , if it's wet enough it will self level a lot if you use a vibrating poker, but to wet isn't always good, IMO

Hope it helps

Sent using Arbtalk Mobile App

Always a bit more awkward when there are walls surrounding the pour with no shutters to tamp off.

The way I'd normally tackle something like this is with a laser level and make up a staff from a square of 1/4 ply and a 2x2 upright so it actually floats on top of the concrete.

It just means you can get your level anywhere you like and keep working your way out.

I'm lucky to have a single grade laser so can actually put a fall from back to front if required?

However easy options for you are?

Agilia Concrete, simply brilliant but more expensive? In such an application you would simply tip it in and go over it with a hand tamp job done!

It will truly self level and hey presto next morning the finish will be approaching a powerfloat finish?