Just after some info off the pros.

Ding

Hi everyone just after some info off you all.

I have been doing favours for friends and family for a few years pruning trees or removing them alltogether, using the wood for my log burner. Now the way I look at it is I'm not charging for the work so I have never bothered with insurance or training, I have common sense and never done any tree I didn't feel happy cutting within the boundary of the gardens.

Inevitably word soon spreads about your skills, now the advice I need is a friend of a friend requires 4 sycamore trees removing from his garden all growing through a very nice big cherry tree, I would be charging for this job other wise like I have read on here friends of friends of friends will be wanting favours, I have looked into doing cs30/31 and I'm willing to do the training and get public liability insurance just to be 100% legit, is it worth spending about £1000 on the training and look into expanding and doing more jobs or stick to my friends and family?

In no way would I be competing with any local businesses as it will only be on an as and when basis when my shifts allow.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Sounds to me like you enjoy doing it and probably will whatever. Only you can decide if it is worth the cost of tickets and insurance at this time. Maybe look at this job to pay for your start up package of training etc. If your already employed then time out to train is maybe the biggest obstacle

If you want to expand a bit and do more trees than you need logs from....

will you start to charge for the work?

All the time you are doing it for free just for the logs that's fair enough.

If you really enjoy it and would like to do a bit for money and 'see where it takes you' then you should get yourself insured. As for doing it safely... that should be the case already.