Thinning and Reducing Beech

sime42

Hello all

I'm fairly new to this game so could do with some advice from all you knowledgeable guys.

I been asked to do a job that involves the reducing and thinning of a beech tree. Its the common story;- it over-shadows the lawn so takes most of their sun. They want me to take off about a third of the height of it. (I say it, although it's actually 3 or 4 trunks coming from what might be a common base. It is at the end of a beech hedge so could well be an overgrown part of that.) I'd say the height of the tree(s) is 50 - 60 feet.

My question is;- when is the best time of year to do this work? And also, is it even possible? (I read somewhere that you shouldn't really prune beech trees at all.)

I've attached some pictures for info. (And amusement;- see camp looking attire of my mate that wants the work doing!)

I'd be grateful for any experience or ideas that people might have on this.

Cheers

Simon

DSC01015.jpg.c03a0284f31a25a03a726cbcc528fd8f.jpg

DSC01013.jpg.a31b053ad2b5cddae4903928ec553515.jpg

I'm no expert either, I haven't been in this game long at all, so I'm sure somebody may have better advice.....

I'd be tempted to recommend a crown lift (as already suggested) and crown clean. I.e Remove any deadwood, crossed or rubbing brances and then thin ever so slightly at the same time. You'll be amazed at how that will open out the canopy and allow the light through.

As for the best time of year, presumably in it's doormant season??

As I said I am still learning so if anybody's got constructive criticism please let me know

Rob

That will easily take a reduction of a third.Done properly of course :001_smile:

Beeches do respond well to pruning they seal over quite well, its when there hacked back to next to nothing they dont always recover.

They can also produce new growth from "pollard" points but not always,but you wouldnt be doing that anyway :closedeyes: