Rope Advance When Using the 'O' Rig

R Mac

Hi folks a newbie here with what is probably a stupid question but......

Just recently passed CS38/39 but not currently employed, had a chance to try out the 'O' rig and have just been practicing setting it up but haven't actually climbed on it yet. The question is, if I remove the spliced eye on the working end of my climbing line from the karabiner attached to the hitch climber to advance the rope my climbing system is no longer attached to my harness unlike when I use a basic prusik. I'm a bit concerned about dropping the climbing rope at this point.

Any suggestions apart from not dropping the rope?

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Bit of starter cord / bootlace with a dog lead snap or accessory krab from bridge to hitch climber as a back if it really worries you?

Alternatively, you could tie the tail end of your rope to the back of your harness while ascending, so if you do drop it at least you have the other end!

Hi folks a newbie here with what is probably a stupid question but......

Just recently passed CS38/39 but not currently employed, had a chance to try out the 'O' rig and have just been practicing setting it up but haven't actually climbed on it yet. The question is, if I remove the spliced eye on the working end of my climbing line from the karabiner attached to the hitch climber to advance the rope my climbing system is no longer attached to my harness unlike when I use a basic prusik. I'm a bit concerned about dropping the climbing rope at this point.

Any suggestions apart from not dropping the rope?

Use both ends of the rope to advance ie pull the end of your rope up to where your tied in (with your lanyard) throw your rope ahead ascend to that point lanyard in,pull up other end of rope throw ahead etc till you get high enough to get to a t.i.p that gives you the access you require around the tree.