First climbing kit - any good?

Red.Squirrel

Hi guys, I was hoping you could give me some advice for my first climbing kit. I have nothing to start with so am buying the whole lot in one big bulk. I'm currently studying at Myerscough but got a couple of small jobs lined up for friend of friends so decided I might as well take the plunge and get everything I need.

This is the list that I've come up with from Honey Brothers:

Petzl Vertex Vent c/w Husq Attch

Petzl SEQUOIA Harness

Yale XTC-FIRE Rope 35m

3 x Edelrid HMS Triple Lock Karabiner

Adjustable Lanyard 3m (with the crab, pulley, cord, etc)

Marlow Boa 9mm Friction Cord 4m

Throw Bag with Throwline

Silky Zubat 300 Saw & Sheath

Webbed Cambium/Friction Saver Length: 1.3 Metre

Total inc VAT £524.57

Was hoping if anyone had any suggestions or recommendations on what to take away/swap or if what I've picked is likely to fall apart from experience. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers guys.

Edit - Forgot to mention, if anyone from Honey Brothers is on here, student discount? Don't ask, don't get ;)

Edited by Red.Squirrel
Reason - Begging/Bartering

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

don't be to quick in buying gear or taking on private work at the moment, save your money unless you've got a good job prospect after college. most companies provide climbing gear and when you start climbing you'll get to know what you need, by the way was it someone from the company that was advising what to buy?

If you have the cash then buy it and get practising. When you get a job don't tell them you have your own kit or enter into an agreement where by they replace stuff as it wears but it belongs to you. If your keen and work hard there will be a job for you. You could always buy a 45m rope then cut it and make a lanyard and have a bit left over to use as a blakes hitch. Use the spare cash to buy some secateurs.