Cutter angles

athelstan

I own a couple of Stihl saws and have just bought a Husky 365 to join them. I'm not the best at reading instructions but for the first time I notice that angle for the file on the Stihl is 30 degrees whilst that of the Husky it is 25 degrees. For years I have been using the Husky roller guide gauge on the Stihl saws which I presume is set at 25 degrees.

The chains seem to cut OK. Can I carry on using the Husky roller guide on the Stihl saws as this is the gauge I feel happier with?

You will gather from this that I'm a rank amateur and would appreciate your advice.

As a general rule, I always understood that 30 degrees was good for hardwoods, 25 was good for softwoods. A smaller angle cuts faster, but is weaker, and would need more sharpening. I tend to use 30 degrees, as most of my stuff is hardwood.

:dito:

I own a couple of Stihl saws and have just bought a Husky 365 to join them. I'm not the best at reading instructions but for the first time I notice that angle for the file on the Stihl is 30 degrees whilst that of the Husky it is 25 degrees. For years I have been using the Husky roller guide gauge on the Stihl saws which I presume is set at 25 degrees.

The chains seem to cut OK. Can I carry on using the Husky roller guide on the Stihl saws as this is the gauge I feel happier with?

You will gather from this that I'm a rank amateur and would appreciate your advice.

it is all down to the chain rather than the saw

ie i use stihl chain on husq saws

problem with using the roller guide on stihl chain is the top angle will be wrong....

oregon who make roller guides have a 10 degree drop on the back where as still is flat at 90 degrees to the bar so all will be wrong

most oregon is 30 degrees also

also if using 3/8 chain the file size is different between oregon and stihl so again roller no good

hope that makes sense