All the gear - no idea!

Ty Unnos

Hi Again,

Trying to get my head around what PPE I should buy for my CS30 / 31 next year and afterwards.

I have little experience as yet and I will not be climbing so am looking for gear for a beginner on the ground.

Helmet - Are all makes the same? The place near me sells the husqvarna one. Is it good enough?

Gloves - Protection on one hand or both? Again are the husqvarna gloves any good?

Trousers - Conflicting advice on this one. Do I only need type A as I will not be climbing, or do I need type C as I am complete beginner and am likely to do something stupid!

Boot or Wellies. I am sure the boots are way better but they are around £175. The wellies are £50. I am tempted to go for wellies on cost alone but do people actually use them? The guy in the store told me people wear the wellies in winter and boots the rest of the year. Is this true?

Jacket - As a beginner I like the idea of a protective jacket. I know its not required but did anyone actually wear one when they started out?

All advice appreciated.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What work will you be doing / are your career plans??

jacket - i was given one - lovely for bucket work and standing around in but i wouldn't buy one - Depends on your budget - if you intend to start climbing at any point get boots and type C and a climbing helmet e.g petzel - husky Helmets are good and you can get them with a chin strap and they are cheaper than the petzels. The Wellies are sound if you doing forestry not so good for arb work i reckon. Gloves come in a pair and they only need protection on the back of your left hand, will be explained on your course why...I never bought type A trousers becuase i always set oput to be a climber - they are warmer and stop crap sticking into the back of your legs but you will get toasty in summer....