Queries/thoughts on small-scale milling with an electric chainsaw

Britt woodworker

Hello

I am a woodworker primarily engaged in woodturning and related small-scale woodworking projects. I often obtain boles and boughs of lumber from tree surgeons which I free cut with my electric chainsaw and share with colleagues.

However with some of the more attractive and rare timber that often comes my way, I would like to utilize as much of the wood as possible by using a small chainsaw mill. The overall diameter of these boles and boughs never exceeds about 14"

The major constraint is working in a residential area where the use of a petrol powered chainsaw is really not an option.

With that in mind, I would like to do this small-scale milling with a good quality electric chainsaw and a small mill such as the 36″ Ecomill or Alaskan Mill.

I have been trying to do some homework on this and have come to the following conclusions. I am most grateful for advice from Rob at Chainsaw Bars on specific equipment queries but would greatly appreciate some comments on what I think could be a way forward.

Mill choice

As regards choice, I would prefer a mill as specified above, which grips the guide bar at both ends rather than on the one end of the guide bar, even though this reduces the maximum cutting diameter. It seems to me that the the clamping pressure on a single (or double) pressure point at the power end of the bar would need to be excessive to avoid movement through leverage, and minimize vibration which can effect the guide when cutting parallel with the grain.  Electric chainsaw guide bars may not be tough enough for this (see discussion below on guide bars).

Which chainsaw?