deposits for large jobs

pward

Hey all

Just to get peoples thoughts on deposits for large jobs, its to cover my backl, it is for when I price a job over £500, and when they agree on my quote, the depost comes off the bill. Is this more hassel or worth doing????

Cheers

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've never done that before, I do sometimes think about it when a client asks you to quote for felling a tree on a house that they are thinking to buy. The only time I've done these "quotes" for people I've never got the work. I think, like yourself next time if it for a proposed house purchase a charge for the quote, re-fundable on accepting the quote could be the way to go.

It's difficult because essentially all you are supplying is labour, it's not like a builder/landscaper who has to outlay £'s before they get in site for materials etc etc.

Maybe judge clients on an individual basis and try to get a feel for them?

Whats the point, we are pretty much a llabour only trade, so you lose nothing but profit if they decide not to use you. IMO asking for money up front for tree work would just make you seem like a pushy traveller type.

Here in the states I have not heard of such a policy for tree work on it's own. When tree work is part of the bid or quote in conjunction with landscape work, including replacement of trees and shrubs, etc. Yes a deposit of 1/3 to 1/2 for the total job cost. I to wanted to cover my back. Good Hunting!

Whats the point, we are pretty much a llabour only trade, so you lose nothing but profit if they decide not to use you. IMO asking for money up front for tree work would just make you seem like a pushy traveller type.

What about chippers, vehicles, equipement, fuel, insurance, pensions,mortgages,rent,electricity,gas,spares, phone, internet, paper, pens,staplers,furniture holidays, sick days, pensions the list is endless. These all need payed for.:001_rolleyes: