Chip yard

PatrickFirwood

So this year we're considering renting/purchasing some yard space so that we can dump woodchip, green waste and logs etc. and wondered if anyone on here could shed some information on the process of having woodchip collected?

For the last few years we've been using a composting site to get rid of all our woodchip, green waste and unwanted logs. The woodchip and logs we can dump there for free, and the green waste is £40 per load. The only issue is that the site is a 30 mile round trip, which is costing us a lot in terms of time a fuel. 

So my question is once you have a lorry loads worth of woodchip ready to go, do you have to pay to have it collected? Do they pay you? or do they have it for free and charge you nothing for taking it away? I'm guessing I would also need a loader of some sort to load it for them? or do they come with one on the back of their lorry?

Sorry if this is a total newbie question, I've only ever worked for firms that get rid of all their chip at local recycling centres so I'm not sure how it all works... 

You'll need 25t ish minimum for one load.

Yes a loader that can tip at circa 5m is required, and bigger bucket the better for speed of loading.  You will need to provide this on the day. 

Good access for the lorry and loader is important obviously, and some sort of wall or bank that the chip can be heaped up against is important.   

Depending on which way the wind is blowing and how the stars are aligned, you will be paid 5-10 per ton. 

It's a good way of turning around your waste for sure.  I sell chip by the trailer load also, so that pays for loading the lorry mostly.  

Hope that helps. 

Edited by Domino
  • Like 2

If you're selling woodchip you may fall into the planning permission will be required category especially with an increase in traffic.

You will need a telehandler, possible with a tractor loader but lifting height and bucket size make for very slow loading.