Lockjack ropes?

Ian Flatters

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I wouldn't use Elderid power static it has a thin outer mantle and most if not all of the strength is in the core, its also not very supple. Use a dedicated semi-static climbing rope with a thicker out core better suited to abrasion (I'm no expert though so i may be wrong this is just my limited understanding) and also load bearing along with the core.

Most climbing ropes will work with a Lockjack, but i've heard Yale XTC works particularly well as does Samson Arbormaster, or for thinner rope try New England Tachyon.

I don't use a Lockjack myself though prefer a Hitchclimber and knot for better control, the LJ is a good tool though and i'm sure someone will will give other suggestions.

to be honest i haver been using marlow chamelion and salamander with my lock jack as it is what i already had, before getting a specific rope for a lock jack i would try using a lock jack and friction saver first , it can take quite a bit of getting used to and now everyone gets on with it , as for info on the spider jack have a search through other threads , swb already ahs a thread - good by vt hello spiderjack ,

to be honest i haver been using marlow chamelion and salamander with my lock jack as it is what i already had, before getting a specific rope for a lock jack i would try using a lock jack and friction saver first , it can take quite a bit of getting used to and now everyone gets on with it , as for info on the spider jack have a search through other threads , swb already ahs a thread - good by vt hello spiderjack ,

Sounds like good advice from someone who knows about the tool:thumbup1:

I gave up on it when I nearly stacked out of the tree. Poxy little toggle!:thumbdown::lol:

Sounds like good advice from someone who knows about the tool:thumbup1:

I gave up on it when I nearly stacked out of the tree. Poxy little toggle!:thumbdown::lol: