Big T`s first chipper refurb thread!

Big T

Hiya!

Picked up my first ever chipper lastnight, an Entec Chippit, 18hp gravity fed jobbie from Arbtalk member Ukminch (Top bloke!) I got it for a good price as it has some issues that need sorting but seeing as I am an ex aircraft mechanic and my dad is a retired welder/fabricator it should be a nice little project! The chipper is running and has had a new anvil, flywheel bearings etc,and the engine was serviced shortly before it was laid up (approx 12 months ago). So basically the important parts are sorted, just needs a little TLC! Planned jobs are;

Rewire the ignition system.

Repair/strenghen the hopper (that almost fell off on the way home due to rust)

Re-shim or somehow sort out the shoot clamping arrangement as its gone slack due to use.

Repair/repaint the body panels. (Thinking about JCB yellow as I can get the paint and it was originally yellow and dont wanna look like im trying to make it look like a Timberwolf!)

Build a new chassis as the one on it is VERY solid and I want it as light as possible so I can move it easily!

Pics will start coming tomorrow, please feel free to post your pics/refurb:thumbup: pics!

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks Rob!

Made a start today! Todays work was;

1) Shorted the towbat a tad.

2) Fix Mudguards on.

3) Weld in some plate steel under where the shoot bolts on to try and make the bolts grip it better (typical entec/timberwolf prob!)

Had a look at the wiring. Turns out the Solinoid was ok so just trying to work out where all of the wires go on the back of the ignition switch! Anyone got any ideas? I have the following wires;

Black

White

Blue

Red

And the following terminals on the back of the ignition switch;

ST

ACC

IGN

BAT

Does anyone know what goes where???

Now for the pics.........

DSCF2380.jpg.edf36e7ac232f522e48c8aed2d54d740.jpg

DSCF2377.jpg.c03f8c09ad9af6f688c30520378c5c6b.jpg