Chainsaw beginner - can't get Husq going after refuel

ATC1983

Bear in mind I'm a beginner that only got saw for home use...

I came to refill my Husq 455 rancher today for the first time, then couldn't get it going. I know the saw is 50:1 mix, but I'm wondering if I've put the correct fuel in and if it (strictly) matters if I don't get the mix exact.

The fuel I used I got from b/q, namely for saw oil

http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav.jsp?action=detail&fh_secondid=9219170&fh_location=//catalog01/en_GB/categories%3C{9372012}/categories%3C{9372021}/categories%3C{9372064}/categories%3C{9512016}/specificationsProductType=engine_oils

and as a mixer b/q pro performance 2 stroke:

http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav.jsp?action=detail&fh_secondid=9219171&fh_location=//catalog01/en_GB/categories%3C{9372012}/categories%3C{9372021}/categories%3C{9372064}/categories%3C{9512016}/specificationsProductType=engine_oils

I think I added more 2 stroke than I should have.

When the saw was refuelled, it initially started up then died 10 secs later; second try it started again, then same thing, and now it won't restart. This is most infuriating as I'm using the saw for badly needed firewood I have which needs chopped.

Any advice? Or have I used the wrong oil? Or wrong ratios?

Thanks

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hi , when re starting the saw did you set the choke to full then pul the saw over untill t fired , then set the choke to half and again pull it fired and then started ? secondly it may be worth getting a bottle of stihl to stroke oil that measures out the right amount of oil for 5 litres of fuel .

If the saw runs out of fuel try starting it as from a cold start and prime it if it has a primer. When the fuel runs out there is no more fuel in the system so doing a cold start help get fuel back into the engine. I hope that is helpful.