ITBS syndrome

nz paul

Anyone had this?

I was diagnosed a while back and have had physio,acupuncture and done some stretches i have found online but doesn't seem to be getting better,if anything getting worse.

Originally was from running but am finding it's affecting me when i'm on my gaffs for to long and walking up and down steep ground.

Anyone got any help,experience or ideas?.

Thanks

Paul.

Posted this in the employment section by mistake so have re posted it here for hopefully more responses.

Hello Chap,

I had this in 2011 during the Paris-Brest-Paris 1225km cycle race during the final 300km.

I NEVER want to experience such pain again.

I finished the event in 62hrs but couldn't walk properly afterwards for a week.

Mine was caused by the right pedal cleat being not perfectly aligned.

Yours, is likely to be the same.

OBVIOUSLY I'm no doctor but my diagnosis is...

Your gaffs are putting your knee out of alignment causing your tendon to rub on the bone.

Cure...don't climb with gaffs.

I changed my pedals to ones with more 'float' so my leg is less fixed to the pedal.

I would suggest changing gaffs to others with more support BUT...now I'm well out of my depth.

I really feel for you but its like tendonitus, rest seems to be the best cure and changing working practices.

Regards

Ty

Hello Chap,

I had this in 2011 during the Paris-Brest-Paris 1225km cycle race during the final 300km.

I NEVER want to experience such pain again.

I finished the event in 62hrs but couldn't walk properly afterwards for a week.

Mine was caused by the right pedal cleat being not perfectly aligned.

Yours, is likely to be the same.

OBVIOUSLY I'm no doctor but my diagnosis is...

Your gaffs are putting your knee out of alignment causing your tendon to rub on the bone.

Cure...don't climb with gaffs.

I changed my pedals to ones with more 'float' so my leg is less fixed to the pedal.