Wedding Sign Carving

Fencing Nick

Hi

My brothers wedding is coming up and his future wife has asked if I can make some sort of sign saying 'wedding' or 'mr and mrs .....' Etc. I am an NOVICE at this. Just about past the mushroom stage and on to stools and chairs, and toying with small detail. Does anyone have any ideas for something easy but effective??

Thanks

Nick

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Nick,

How big a sign ?

If not massive then how about a sanded disc/tree slice about 15" or more.

You could router the script out.

Better still, how about making a large cutting/serving board with some script on one side. That way they can keep using it after the big day:thumbup:

Cheers,

Si

Whatever size you are planning double it as whenever I make signs to direct deliveries etc. I always wish I had made them bigger.

Simple idea for signs is strip down a couple of pallets or add small straps to fill in the gaps if you prefer. Mark out your lettering with a pencil. stand back and make any adjustments. Blow torch the letters lightly and ensuring all the edges of the lettering are covered don't worry about going over the lines. The graphite in the pencil will remain to help with the next bit.

Get an angle grinder and sand round all the letters carefully. If you have a dremel they are great for the trickier letters. use the sander to scallop the edge of the pallet if you want and blow torch it then sand up to the edge of the scallop to get a clean finish.

You can then stain or use a wood preserver to keep it looking good.

Thats not half bad for a first punt man. As said above, with bigger logs it would have more impact, and if you could make sure to have all the letters a consistant height too.