Silly question???

Bewarethemoon

I'm sure this will sound stupid to the more experienced climbers out there but there's something that's been bugging me since I read it in a post a few days ago. It was in a thread regarding Friction Hitches and someone mentioned (I'm guessing purely to justify the use of simple knots such as the Prussik) that they knew experienced climbers who still used both ends of the rope.

My question is what's wrong with this technique or why is it seen as outdated? I'm new to climbing with only around 6 months recreational climbing experience and I've been climbing DRT using both ends of the climbing line, aswell as using a strop with rope grab.

I don't ask to be confrontational but purely out of curiosity as to wether there's something I'm missing?

Any help or advice would be much appreciated! Thanks Daniel.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

There's nothing wrong with the technique, it's just that it can lead to kinks and twists in the rope, as well as it being a pain in the bum hauling up the end of your rope. Also, if you keep the other end of your rope attached to your harness ready to use, you create a big loop beneath you that can easily get caught on branches and stubs, or catch a falling piece of timber, potentially pulling on you.

That makes sense. What are the alternatives to using the other end? Just spliced end and strop?

There's nothing wrong with the technique, it's just that it can lead to kinks and twists in the rope, as well as it being a pain in the bum hauling up the end of your rope. Also, if you keep the other end of your rope attached to your harness ready to use, you create a big loop beneath you that can easily get caught on branches and stubs, or catch a falling piece of timber, potentially pulling on you.

What he said.