Trip across the pond

AshevilleArborists

hello my fellow arbs. I'm an owner operator over in the States, and am making a trip to London with my family. Since my last trip over, about 7 years ago, my passion for trees and arb have grown tenfold. Sme guys on the Buzz recommended I check in over here for some advice on my trip. There are a couple of things that really interest me.

1 I was hoping to spend some money on some gear while over, and would love to put my hands on things, and try them on before buying them. Anyone know of a retail store around London where I could do this?

2 a few years ago I acquired Thomas Pakenhams Meetings with Remarkable Trees, and really want to go see some of these, or any other must see trees around London. I'll be doing some traveling out of the city with family in Tonbridge, so I will be open to places South as well. Might as well include interest in possible cool rec climbs as well. I'll be over the last week in October.

Thanks in advance!

Easiest retailer to Tunbridge would be Fr Jones and son. If you are travelling in and out of town. Close to Tonbridge would be knoll park for plenty of trees to look at and there's some beauties very near to Fr jones in Greenwich royal park, also Oxleas woods are close by.

That is not to say these are the best locations in the area just the ones I know as they are on my doorstep. Also, well worth a look would be Wakehurst place over towards gatwick airport. An aboretum ran and managed by Kew botanical gardens.

I am sure others will pipe up with more suggestions. Enjoy your trip.

Rich.

Welcome to the 'site, AshvilleArborists. And welcome - in advance - to old London town.

October isn't the best time of year to go tree hunting here as it's quite likely to be grey, cold and damp. A bit like the other 11 months of the year! LoL.