CS38 39 course starting monday / whats the rules for climbing alone?

turtle_boy

I'm starting my CS38 and CS39 course on monday, I don't work for a proper tree surgeons more a landscaping company but i'm trying to get my boss to take on more tree work.

i was wondering if it is going to be harder for me as i have no previous experience or is the course ok for people completely new to climbing work?

I'm hoping i'll be fine because im really keen on it and thoroughly enjoyed my 30 & 31 and loved all tree work i've done since, hence booking myself up the course and buying the gear.

Also can someone fill me in on the laws on doing climbing work alone? is it allowed or do you need to have someone else who's qualified in aerial rescue??

(basically am i going to stay with my current company or try and find myself a job with a tree surgeon!!)

cheers in advance

i was wondering if it is going to be harder for me as i have no previous experience or is the course ok for people completely new to climbing work?

Also can someone fill me in on the laws on doing climbing work alone? is it allowed or do you need to have someone else who's qualified in aerial rescue??

(basically am i going to stay with my current company or try and find myself a job with a tree surgeon!!)

cheers in advance

You should be fine doing the course with minimal experience. If you apply a bit of common sense you'll be fine.

As for the law on climbing alone. It's recommended that if you are climbing, you need another person there that is capable of getting you down, should something hit the fan. You should also have a rescue kit available when you climb should a rescue be needed.

That isn't to say that everyone sticks by that rule.

Hope that helps. Best of luck and welcome to the forum.

Tom

Edited by Tommy_B
Being polite...

Its your employer who would be in the wrong if he gets you to climb alone not you. But ther eare very little laws, unless something goes wrong.