tight bends.

Dilz

Hello!

I'm relatively new to SRT so forgive me if this is basic stuff.

This is for using a base anchor that is rigged for rescue.

I was wondering if having a system set up where there is a top anchor which is a wire strop around the tree or limb and connected together with a karabiner - is it fine to just have the access line go through the karabiner or does it need to go over a pulley or shear reduction block?

The reason for the wire strop is - the system will be left out overnight in an area with a large amount of wildlife activity and risk assessment says we need to do this to prevent the rope getting chewed by animals.

Thanks for any info.

Sounds like a clumsy solution to a nonexistent problem to me.

Either remove the line at night and use a throw line to reinstall as Joe says, or just pull the line down in the morning to check it. You should inspect the full length of the line every day anyway as part of your normal pre climb checks.

Also if this is a permanent or semi permanent installation leaving a wire sling in the tree isn't exactly cambium friendly.