Another beginner chainsaw thread

Simonhi

Hello,

I'm new here and by default a complete beginner.

I need a chainsaw to cut some wood that I was lucky enough to get from a site I was working on.

Until now I have borrowed a saw but feel it is high time I bought my own.

It will of course mostly be used for smallish work but I do hope to do some small scale felling in time with the right tuition.

I have been using a Stihl 181 and whilst it is adequate it does sometimes get bogged down in the cut and I'm just a Husky guy at heart. We have about 50 Stihl disc cutters at works and I just associate that brand with cutting kerbs and slabs !!! I had a Husky supermotard years ago and I just love the rebel feel I get from Husky.

I was looking at the 440, 445 and 450.

Am I trying to run before I can walk ? I have used a chainsaw very rarely over the last 20 or so years so I'm not a complete newbie, I'm still here !!!

Sorry if this has been done to death before but I would really appreciate the advice here.

I am the type of guy to by once and don't want to either be under gunned or over powered.

Cheers is advance guys :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi

The 550 is a good saw but has some complicated electronics if it goes wrong, what you probably need is something tried & tested that dosnt need attachment to a laptop.

These are the ones Id look consider are:

42cc - Dolmar 420SC

50cc - Dolmar 115 which Shavey says is still available!

60cc - Echo 620sx

70cc - Husqvarna 365xt

The Dolmar 420 is an absolutely cracking saw & very reasonably priced & may be just the ticket.

What ever you get run it on Aspen then you wont have to worry about fuel going off etc.

N

Hello,

I'm new here and by default a complete beginner.

I need a chainsaw to cut some wood that I was lucky enough to get from a site I was working on.