Safety - say it like it is...

Safety Steve

Ok - into the den of lions we go.....

I am after some advice from members regarding the development of my health, safety and sustainability professional services. This is NOT a tout for business (at the moment).

I am a Charted Fellow of IOSH (the most recognised professional body) and personally very interested in the various commercial/private working environments covered by members. I am at that point in my career where I am going to do what I enjoy - rather than chase the £'s.

I am an ex engineer 'safety professional' (ie not an arborist or TS) with my own equipment which I have used for 20 years in a domestic user, (saws, brush cutters, 360 JCB, dumper and Kubota tractor with various attachments and buckets etc etc.) I don't climb but used to look after safety of a LA (parks, verge cutting risk assessments and vetting contractors! etc).

My (serious) request for your thoughts; does this industry have sufficient 'modern' safety professionals working for it? Ie not client led - but in house or 'on tap' advisors who look after your business and actually help you to win contracts, liaise with clients or help manage subbies etc).

I fully appreciate larger organisations will have in house services - but it is you smaller guys that I would enjoy working with more. If there is a general 'yes' I will use the appropriate place on here to sell my wares - this is more of a survey. It would be useful if you gave your current setup so I can see who thinks what.

Just as an example of 'modern safety' - I'd rather see you use a smart phone for site risk assessment and those awkward crown 'reduction' plans than start filling out lengthy forms....

No holds barred - say it like it is ! And thanks just for reading this far :thumbup:.

• Replies 162
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic