A mill set up for beginners - suggestions pls.

campanula

I apologise for arriving out of thin air to beg for advice....but anyway.......

We have a little wood, well, a neglected plantation, really, of not terribly exciting poplar. Nonetheless, this is what we have so we must make use of it....so are looking to set up a little Alaskan mill kit. We have a 565 Husky and would like to be able to mill usable planking. However, this is all a bit new to us (we are gardeners by trade) so need some suggestions. What sort of set-up....and roughly how much will it cost,( bearing in mind what jobbing gardeners earn, we are looking for the budget option rather than de-luxe....so nothing new there)..... We kind of hope we can get summat doable for around 4-500 squid? What things are optional and what are essential?

Um, so are you saying we cannot use a mill at all, Big J? Very disappointing and something of a set-back as we certainly cannot afford another chainsaw - took us ages to save for this one. It does limit our use of the wood to either hewn lengths (although my eldest son has a decent collection of axes).....or firewood. Setting priorities for woodland management is certainly tricky.

Yes you can mill it with your saw. It will not be quick, but it will be quicker than hand hewing and will give you perfectly useable planking. It will be nothing like Big J's commercial activity but will make enough boards in a day to be reasonably satisfying.

20-26" is reasonably large but poplar is fairly soft and chips out easily so if you take your time it will be OK.

I'm not familiar with a 565 - is this model number correct? If what you have is a 60ish cc saw then I would go for a 20" bar, Granberg chain as it compensates a bit for lack of power (you will also need a precision grinder), mini-mill and 24" Alaskan, which will give you about a 14" cut. You will need to take the dogs off the saw.