Oak VTA - Professional Tree Inspection

jacquemontii

I’m currently studying Visual Tree Assessment, with a view to eventually taking the Professional Tree Inspection. I have a theoretical question based on an oak (please see photos).

Considering the overall form and balance of the tree, the trunk and leader has developed a natural lean and curve to the south. At the base of the trunk there is a pronounced root flare on the tension side, (in the opposite direction to the curve) which I would interpret as being an important component in stabilizing the tree. A decay hollow is forming within this root flare. At the opposite side of the trunk (compression side) there is another wound (possibly impact by machinery?) with a small Ganoderma bracket (indicating white rot in either trunk or roots).

With the format of the professional Tree Inspection course in mind, what conclusions/recommendations would be expected of this tree? Is this the type of tree likely to be encountered in the exam? Having weighed up the risks of potential targets, would this be a straight forward decision to fell for safety reasons, or am I jumping the gun slightly?

I know it’s difficult to form an assessment based on a few photos, but any helpful advice would be appreciated.

20151029_114113.jpg.16d78f22c2e2edd66c63d68151d6d025.jpg

P1050435.jpg.df02bd170c18667a58a0ee2e16dee77b.jpg

59766e86d8a47_oakvta.jpg.d2454c5487cab2a90af939a55139ad44.jpg

sorry I should say - I haven't done the PTI so could be talking nonsense - but would the overall condition/ vitality of the tree and likely life expectancy not also contribute to the final recommendation where targets/lack of would allow a reduction in height to retain?

is there any other structural issues in the canopy - tight forks old pruning wounds.

is the decayed hollow and the gano on the opposite side a result of coalescence?