Chogging

LumberJake

Hi All.

I am very new to all of this so forgive me if this is a silly question. I know when chogging (and whenever using a saw from rope and harness) you must have two points of attachment. I know that when chogging you use your mainline and your flipline but how do you exactly use your main line? It may sound strange but I am curious because it looks like you are too close to the trunk to have a large system. Any pics of your set ups would be a great help to if this is possible.

Hope I haven't made thet too confusing....

Cheers,

Jake

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I favour choking the line onto the stem with a bowline leaving a long tail to tug it down with and a soft locked figure 8, minimal clutter and a fast descent if I need to bail out.

On the odd occasion I dismantle proper multi stemmed stuff I might leave the pulley saver set on one and use the HC if I think I might be up and down a few times but generally it's just single line figure 8 with flipline & spikes by choice.

Okay cheers that was the rough idea that I had. I have seen this video and I was wondering if anyone could tell me the figure eight that the cutter is using? [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W08WlmOrmaY]Certified arborist, Jason Jones in action - YouTube[/ame]

Cheers,

Jake

I favour choking the line onto the stem with a bowline leaving a long tail to tug it down with and a soft locked figure 8, minimal clutter and a fast descent if I need to bail out.

On the odd occasion I dismantle proper multi stemmed stuff I might leave the pulley saver set on one and use the HC if I think I might be up and down a few times but generally it's just single line figure 8 with flipline & spikes by choice.

I have absolutely no idea what all that means:001_smile: (I know you love your bits and bobs Simon!)