struggling with splicing double braid class 1!

mattplace

On double braid class 1 splice i am struggling with reinserting the core back into the cover. where it crosses over original core, it keeps getting jammed solid. i am using a wire fid so maybe this is where i'm going wrong?

would a toss wand or tubular fid help?

i have only succeeded with one bury at this stage but i couldn't finish the final bury because the core seemed to bunch up at the new spliced eye. I am using the samson instructions.

my hands are in pieces!!!:sneaky2:

(BTW its on yale silver streak)

I am no expert bro, but if you keep tension on the core loop (which helps to narrow its diameter), anchor the fid to something solid and then massage the cover over the core rather than trying to pull the core through the cover it may be easier. Thats my 2cents worth. There are some very experienced splicers on here so hopefully someone chimes in. Good luck.

you could try doing a very short taper where the core is in your fid. this will reduce the volume a tad and may help you to then get the pull started. once youve got the core to pull through, anchor it to something solid and then jerk it through.

If your eye is bunching up then try milking away from eye but keeping some tension in the eye, i do this by keeping a carabiner in the eye and holding it with my other hand. To keep the crossover nice and tight try inserting a splicing needle through the x over. or whip it together. During the bury, keep milking back every so often and jerking the crab in the eye back. Sometimes when the bury is super tight you can gently hit the throat with a rubber hammer to loosen the fibers a bit more . Hope it helps bro