Spiderjack 2.1 and yale blue tonge

Lancstree

Started using this setup yesterday and found the rope good to grip but sometimes it didn't feed into the spiderjack too well. This may be because I'm a novice spiderjack user but I've watched spiderjackery 3 and payed attention. It happened when I was out on a limb and the rope was deflected back to where I came from ( the angle was quite flat mind you). I tried one handed adjustment and it just created slack above the sj.

Also when starting off from the bottom of the tree can be problematic but I suppose this can be overcome by starting off from the top of ladders or getting someone to hold the rope until sufficiently high. I've not tried blaze or any 11mm rope with the sj but would imagine that they are a little stiffer and push through easier. I prefer 11.7mm on the hands though

I love the control of the modified version and the neatness of the setup.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I,ve been using blue tongue with my 2.1 Spiderjack for a clouple of months now and with practice you will have no problems whatsoever......it,s great when you can progress through the crown using just one hand....what a novelty!...keep practising...i gave up my prussick for good now i,ve bonded with my Spiderjack...

Cheers. It really came in handy today as I was tied into one tree to climb another and virtually climbed it one handed where I would of needed to strop in at various points with the hitchclimber. I've actually had it self tend a bit when the rope is deflected. The blue tonge is a lovely rope to work with but I sometimes think functionality has been sacraficed as something a little more rigid would feed in easier. However it's early days and I'm sure I'll be as happy as you lot with it.