Lapsed pollards...shade makes the situation even worse?

Xerxses

I have very little first hand experience of maintaining pollards especially lapsed ones. I have followed various threads about staged pruning and how to treat them.... But what if they are not pruned?

What happens?

What are the problems? I have been asked and can't really give definate answers?

Due to weak "new" branches they will collaps eventually? Is this true?

Due to the fast growing rate of the new growth, the annual rings are wide and therfore more prone to breakage? Is this true?

All trees that grow at a fast rate are weaker then if they were shaded and due to this grows slower? Is this true?

Any input and discussion appreciated!:001_smile:

It's simple really.

There aren't any ' definate' answers Tobias.

Too much shade will lead eventually to unsustained vigour & eventual death.

Too much newly given light (haloing) can & does scorch leading to probable death. (even thicker barked species, oak etc....)

Old lapsed pollards with large dynamic young growth does tend to end up snapping off from the Boling, (due to unsustainable weight & decay)

Reduction of height over time and cycle, is possibly the best & only way to return to a feasible pollard.

& the same with introducing more light in to the equation.

Little bit at a time if budget & oportunity allow.

It's simple really.

There aren't any ' definate' answers Tobias..

Well... I know, but would'nt it be nice if there were some short, simple and easy ones to pass on?

I'll ask a few "stupid" questions and state a few things just for the sake of diskussion...! So here goes;

"Too much shade will lead eventually to unsustained vigour & eventual death.."

Obviously it would depend on what species we are talking about. Willows and the like beeing the ones that would fail early as they are pioneertrees and cant tolerate shade, or? In your experience does beech tolerate heavy shading or will they decline fast?