Stihl 038 + Husqvarna 51

Tom777

Newbie here!:wave:

I'm looking to buy a second hand saw. I needs to have a bit of guts as I'm to be doing some felling of fair size ash and oak with it. I've seen the horrendous prices some very nasty saws are fetching on e-bay and a new saw is out of the question.

A chap who owns a machinery place near to me has offered me either a Husqvarna 51 or a Stihl 038 for a reasonable price. However I'm not sure which to go for. I'm not familiar with the outboard clutch on the husky but the saw feels very light and compact and I'm quite taken with it. However it seems to have seen a fair bit of use although I'm assured it hasn't been used comercially.

The stihl saw is larger and heavier but seems to have been barely used. It is the basic farm model. Both have 18" bars and I'm more familiar with how Stihl saws are put together. I believe this has the 61cc motor, so more guts than the husky. Any ideas as to which would be the most suitable saw?

Many thanks in advance!

I'm trying to remember my DBH measurements, ash at about 8 to 12" at breast heaight (wide). Some of the oak up to say 14" and a lot of smaller trees. I know inches width isn't the usual industry measurment but I can't remember how DBH relates to size and couldn't tell you from just looking at them.

Given the approx sizes of the trees, I think I'd go for the Stihl, gives you a bigger powerhead, and the option to buy a larger bar/chain for the bigger timbers. More power, less strain for the engine. Plus the advantage of the Stihl is you are already familiar with them.

i like my huskys, but i think if these are the two you have a choice on then go for the stihl, although it will be quite a bit more weight to carry around,

that husky would be be on the limit with an 18" bar, where as the stihl will deal with it ok

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...