Foraging in Leeds

arb culture

Hello all,

Don't know if anyone is interested, but I got an e-mail today from a lady who does foraging walks in Leeds.

I've been on one before where I learnt a few things, and had a nice day out with lovely food at the end of it.

Anyway, I've copied her e-mail below...

"Hello Everyone!

After a looong break, my walks are restarting now for the summer. The next walks will be on Saturday the 19th of June and Sunday the 20th of June from 10am until 1pm. They will be followed by a picnic lunch of foraged wild goodies. At today's walk we had vintage cheddar and Good King Henry quiches and a Swahili style chicken of the woods mushroom coconut curry with mung bean rice, Fruit leathers and home made cordials.

As far as things we are likely to see go, the two things at the top of my list are wild garlic and chicken of the woods mushrooms.

I have been running wild food walks for nearly two years now, taught in excess of 250 people, have been featured in the Leeds Guide in the articles "How To Be More Green" and "Food For Free Foraging Walks". I was also on the 4th episode of "The Edible Garden" with Alys fowler on the BBC. These walks are a lovely day out (if I do say so myself) and Spring is an awesome time to go on one due to the sheer abundance of food out there. :) I will be covering a variety of wild fungi and edible greens as well as teaching you how to identify fungi in a systematic manner to make it as safe as possible.