Another mature beech.

JamesNI

Interested in your opinions on this beech, a customer of mine asked me to have a look, but i'd rather not guess. I'm no expert in fungi or tree health so help appreciated.

It sits on a river bank, so the rear buttress roots where the fungi are, are under massive tension, as the root plate on the other side grows back to the bank. The crown appear healthy with no die back or random dead wood or limbs.

Running above the fungi there is obvious bark damage in a ten inch strip to the top of the stem. The secondary stem is held on via a lovely inclusion too.

The pictures really don't do it justice, if it fell in winds across the river it will do major damage to the garage on the end of the house. The customer would like to keep it, but if I thought there was much doubt i'd prefer to monolith it so it couldn't hit his house should it fall.

Hope the pics work and thanks in advance for any help.

IMG-20130510-00102.jpg.d82034cfe72c23034d170282d7523753.jpg

IMG-20130510-00100.jpg.6dcbf774a99e80ad83410cedd3395035.jpg

IMG-20130510-00097.jpg.b51df578ea030d117f1ca6a053648422.jpg

IMG-20130510-00096.jpg.296bbff8871dc8a581bc675a8b00e57c.jpg

IMG-20130510-00095.jpg.85a537a7493c0cd32c5be7ae5d377368.jpg

IMG-20130510-00092.jpg.e6f2efe5a59a5043b32a1160b4b7827f.jpg

IMG-20130510-00091.jpg.06cbed4bc6d0f6b6a322cfdc4a64f511.jpg

IMG-20130510-00093.jpg.9a48cedca3dd4b862c4f5cb18cd42152.jpg

The brackets 'look' like Ganoderma pfeifferi but it may be just the rain water making them glisten.

If so, also consider these being G. applanatum/lipsiense or G adspersum/australe

I wouldn't rule out seem of disfunction being associated with an old lightning strike.

Is that your inspection ring on it or from a previous inspection.

If previous, there me be an associated report that would provide valuable historical information.

I wouldn't rule out seem of disfunction being associated with an old lightning strike.