introduction and advice on Stihl 010 av

Willard

Hi everyone, I am a chainsaw novice and would appreciate your advice. I have just inherited a Stihl 010 AV from my late father in law. He loved the saw but stopped using it years ago due to ill health. So it has not run for years. I am keen to get it running as I have a lot of firewood to cut. I have drained the old fuel and mixed fresh unleaded with two stroke oil at 25:1, new spark plug, stripped and replaced the two diaphragms & needle in the Walbro WT carb using a re build kit, I used a Sealy spark tester to make sure it has a spark, it does and I get about 120 psi on a compression test. But it just won't start. I did manage to get it to fire and run for a couple of seconds and then it cut out. I think this model was built with a magneto and points, but I see there is a small electrical component mounted near the coil. (see picture). I have removed the silencer from the engine and the piston rings appear to move freely and there is no obvious scoring in the cylinder bore. Does any one have any suggestions please? I'm sure I am missing something obviuos. thanks for your help.

IMG_0953.jpg.7fbe848bcfb7a80f398f1415d45bd5ac.jpg

IMG_0952.jpg.935f3f81a850e38f3fd0af7420605b98.jpg

Your saw has an electronic spark generator which is good as points can get issues such as contact corrosion and degradation.

Was there any vertical scoring on the piston as 120psi sounds low but may be the compression gauge you are using.....what type is it and if you pick the saw up by the starter handle, does it fall slowly (10-15 secs) to full extension or is it much shorter.

When you try to start it, is the plug getting wet with fuel? If you take it out and lift the saw so the bar is pointing upwards and pull it over fast, does fuel drip out of the cylinder as this is a sign it is flooded.