Processors choices?

Mad Ginger

I'm undecided whether to spend money on a firewood processor, or stick with the slower but less expensive chainsaw and splitter... From agriculture I'm new to this sector and therefore have limited knowledge on processors. From little research I can see a lot are foreign built, but what is the best? I'm located Central Scotland so preferably not something that's only got dealer service from Cornwall..

And by 'best' I'm meaning Build quality:Price.

I'm not decided on a budget but we'll say around tops 10-12k? and I would consider 2nd hand if they don't hold their value as well as other machinary.

Thanks

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i'm no longer in the firewood game, but after several years of processing with chainsaw and axe i splashed out on a hakki pilke 1x37. Absolutely its worth it. You'll do 3-4 times as much work and not even break a sweat. The hakki pile is the only machine I have had experience with but as far as deal support goes, theres really not much to go wrong with it. Belts need changing every so often but they are a standard part.

I'm undecided whether to spend money on a firewood processor, or stick with the slower but less expensive chainsaw and splitter... From agriculture I'm new to this sector and therefore have limited knowledge on processors. From little research I can see a lot are foreign built, but what is the best? I'm located Central Scotland so preferably not something that's only got dealer service from Cornwall..

And by 'best' I'm meaning Build quality:Price.

I'm not decided on a budget but we'll say around tops 10-12k? and I would consider 2nd hand if they don't hold their value as well as other machinary.

Thanks

I have a new firewood processor coming at the end of the month from Trak-met. 3 phase electric, 12.5t split, semi automatic, log table in, conveyor out. Might be worth you popping in to see it once it's operational.