Logosol sawmill

axehaircut

Hi all,

I'm on the verge of dipping into my shallow pockets to purchase a Logosol Farmers sawmill and a M8 carriage for it. The idea and background is that I have a young hardwood forest and I'm trying to be able to get some cash flow going through the summer by making various products with milled wood. I've been selling firewood for a few years and then doing odds and ends to get through the spring and summer months, so I'm hoping this might give me a bit of a leg up in the right direction.

The biggest timber diameter at the moment would be 50cm and on average 30cm-ish. I have a Stihl 660 to run on it.

I would be grateful for any advice on whether this is a good idea in regard to investment cost and if anyone has any experience with this particular model?

Cheers

swings and roundabouts, both systems will produce good timber, yes the bandmill will be a little quicker, but will requiree a bit more work to finish the surface, the logosol, with the right angle on the chain will give a finish that only requires a quick sanding, fuel usage depends on what saw your going to use as opossed to a 4stroke kohler 9.5hp engine, the logosol wins on portability, but a good trailer base means the woodland mill isnt far behind

We're looking at getting a Woodland Sawmill this year. It's a bit more that one of the M8 mills but quite a lot cheaper than other bandmills . Higher yield than a chain mill and faster too, I suspect you'd use less fuel per m3 of output.

I've got the Timbery M100, supplied by Woodmizer UK, and the same price as the Woodland. Overnight blades and spares have a lot to be said for them. As I understand it, the Woodland stuff has to come from the states!

Definitely greater yield and much more economical on fuel than a 660! :)