Freelancers, Subbies and Insurance Issues

Dan Curtis

On a couple of occasions recently I've come across a few freelancers and contractors who are unaware of their obligations when it comes to insurance. A lot of this seems to arise from a confusion and mis-definition of the term "subbie".

What I do for a living is climb and cut trees. I am self employed, own my own vehicle to get to and from site, provide my own climbing equipment, saws, rigging equipment etc. I am hired on a day basis, for as many or as few days as the company who engage my services need me to get the job done. By definition, I am a freelancer or labour only sub contractor.

As a freelancer, I'm neither required to have Public Liability nor Employer's liability. I am in essence, an employee of another contractor for the day. A "subbie" is a term often used to describe people who do what I do.

Another definition of a sub contractor, or subbie, is a "bona fide" sub contractor. This situation is very different. It would mean a self employed person who takes on the whole job, on their terms and timelines, with their equipment and the staff they choose to use. They would submit an invoice to the main contractor, who in turn would submit an invoice to the client/tree owners, usually with a mark up for their own profits.

In my circumstances, the individual or company that engage me and my services for work are LEGALLY obliged to hold Employer's Liability insurance. Currently, Public Liability insurance is not a legal requirement.

In the instance of a Bona fide sub contractor, the sub contractor is the one who is required to hold the insurance. It would cover the people they hire to help them carry out the job. (such as freelancers)