salix x chyrsocoma and ash

cerneARB

hello all.

In my back garden we got a Salix x chrysocma and Fraxinus excelsior. I have suggested to our landlady that the Ash needs to have one dominant stem not 3 as in the pictures. The reason i suggested this is that in my opinion the co dominat stems could be a future hazard due to weak forks in ash and secondly the tree will incorprate itself into the fence in the future. the centeral stem has what looks like a frost crack so i would remove this stem.

The willow has had pollarding before and blocks the car park on the right. I know you can pollard this species, but the tree has got some white rot and im concerned that more pollarding will increase its decay. Plus i dont want to pollard it all..maybe just do the branches over the car park.

Im still a student and want to know what you proffessionals think.

Thanks.

salxsmall.jpg.eb4e6a644daa2a2c871b4a0f421edcae.jpg

rot2small.jpg.a962cff5d42c11e917de038ccb60494e.jpg

frostsmall.jpg.bd8a71160fe02e5d89cf27e7876d4d23.jpg

ashsmall.jpg.ebe24de2cf646edc222e9ff8b95a8a84.jpg

pollard the willow, fell the ash and replant.

I second that, the Ash is probably a self-seed and isn't realy growing in the best place and so will probably never going to reach its potential.

But i'm no professional.

i agree with the pollarding of the willow, only a third thou. I dont want to top it 100% thats a crime against nature in my eyes and Shigos:cussing:. I will suggest the complete felling of the ash to the landlady and the council..the trees are in a conservation area. The willow makes good biodivirsity..lots of insects on it for the birds.

Cheers guys...even the non proffessionals :proud: