Alpine tractor work

Treehugger1

Hi guys, new to this forum so bare with me please.

I have 16 years experience working within large country estates and now decided to start working for myself.

I have now purchased an alpine tractor 50hp and was just wondering what if any, work is available for such a machine in the forestry/woodland sector.

Basically I'm wanting to have as many avenues as possible to keep the wheels turning.

Any help/info will be very much appreciated.

I'm located near Edinburgh and willing to work throughout Scotland and North England if that helps.

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Sorry to hijack the thread but what is the max size forwarding trailer you would run on one of these tractors?

I'd of thought a 6t trailer would be at the limit and in the good too.

As for work you'd be looking at low impact. Ride mowing would be a good bet, paddock mowing, snow plowing etc.

Forestry wise you could pull a baby forwarding trailer and use maybe a 5t winch on it.

3t capacity (approx 4t gross) trailer is the most I generally recommend behind a 50Hp alpine. Its likely a tractor that size will only weigh 1.5t, so any more and it will struggle.

Usually suggest 3.5 or 4t winches, as any larger and an alpine wont pick up high enough off the ground for the butt plate to clear stumps etc.

[ATTACH]144630[/ATTACH]

This is our set up

Sent using Arbtalk Mobile App

That's pretty much how I ran with mine, though it spent most of the time with a 3.5T winch on the back running stuff out to where the County could get to.

From memory the JMS 900 trailers were something like 1.5T capacity and worked well behind my old one (50hp Carraro). The one I used was unbraked but was OK if the site wasn't too steep.