small woodland management

jonnyashworth

Question

Hi all. I am totally new to this so please be gentle. Forgiveme if I have posted in the wrong place or am covering a thread that has been covered before.

My wife and I have just moved into a new house that is aone sixth owner of a very small patch of woodland. No one has bothered with the woods for years now, It is totally covered in brambles and has mainly been used by the local residents for an easy place to dump the leaves they collect up in their gardens and the occational fridge etc.

We would really like to clear the woodland a bit to make it a nice place to walk the dog and for kids to play.

It is protected by an area order so any trees over 25 years old are protected and we aremeeting with the local tree officer today to mark the older trees. It is mainly oak and silver birch in the wood.

What I am after is basic advice as I am totallk new to all this... How best to clearthe brambles?? how much to clear?? density of trees?? logging advice?? is it okay to spread leaves collected in the garden on the floor of the wood?? litterally anything at all will be a help. Also any suitable websites to have a look at that might help us.

Many thanks.

Why do you want to clear brambles? They are a totally natural part of woodland ecology, though of course you might have perfectly good logistical reasons for wanting to be rid of them.

It sounds like the type of woodland that wants to exist there is the National Vegetation Classification W10 Oak-Bracken-Bramble woodland, so you might want to manage it with the appropriate species in mind ( Woodland Habitats - Mark Frater, Helen J. Read - Google Books )

Planting trees should be the less preferred option - natural generation is far better but it does sometimes need a helping hand. Small clearings in the bramble can help, but most trees can fight through them.