how much are you paying ground workers?

shillo

Hi all. i am new to employing staff, just wondering what the going rate is for groundworkers. i am currently paying him by the hour which is working out to 340 per week average and i have still got to pay him 5.6 weeks holiday pay.Is this too much? or am i just being tight?? i was thinking of paying him on a per week basis but im not sure about it all. My eyes just glaze over when the accountant starts talking!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi all. i am new to employing staff, just wondering what the going rate is for groundworkers. i am currently paying him by the hour which is working out to 340 per week average and i have still got to pay him 5.6 weeks holiday pay.Is this too much? or am i just being tight?? i was thinking of paying him on a per week basis but im not sure about it all. My eyes just glaze over when the accountant starts talking!

That's £68/day. I wouldn't work for that, but if he's happy with it then all good. And remember, if you're charging him out at £140/day (which you should be) when pricing jobs, then he's putting money in your pocket. Rather than faff around with hours, paying him on a weekly basis will be much simpler. And don't begrudge him holiday pay.

Guess it depends on where you live and age. £68 a day in the south is fairly tight though plenty of people get just than.... If you want to keep him motivated and productive on that rate, maybe think on other ways to give him something back. Most employees seem to respond well to training.

That's £68/day. I wouldn't work for that, but if he's happy with it then all good. And remember, if you're charging him out at £140/day (which you should be) when pricing jobs, then he's putting money in your pocket. Rather than faff around with hours, paying him on a weekly basis will be much simpler. And don't begrudge him holiday pay.

Wouldn't work for 68 pound a day

Well i wouldn't mind working for that