clinometers-

Hi sorbus crew,

Im in the market for a clinometer, I need one rapid (PTI in march) and am going to by the cheap one off you shortly, but I am also looking for a little info (here as it may also help others) on a more technical model at a later date.

I want to be able to measure stem diameter (upper and lower) hieght, crown spread/dimensions without having to get a tape out!

Obviously budget is a concern so what advice would you offer?

as im a total newbie:blushing:

I'd be interested to hear the answer to this. I have never liked the idea of using a clinometer or laserace type thing to measure stem diameters as I can't see how it would be accurate unless the tree is a perfect cylinder?

The best I have used for tree height only is the Haglof clinometer - nice and small and light...

There are some great cheap software products out there these days that allow you to measure dimensions with a digital camera or even a mobile phone. My mate showed me one on his phone just today. I am going to look into it in the near future.

I have a suunto clinometer. It is a nice little piece of engineered gadgetry but I can't quite take to it. I have climbed trees, measured them with rope and then tried my clino on them and never got a totally accurate match.

We were told we needed to get heights within 10% accuracy on our tech cert. I bought the clino for that purpose and only used it once due to time constraints.

I reckon you could walk the PTI with your eyes closed. Not that I have done it yet, but I know .

There are some great cheap software products out there these days that allow you to measure dimensions with a digital camera or even a mobile phone. My mate showed me one on his phone just today. I am going to look into it in the near future.