Splitter Advice

hawthornheavyhorses

Hi All,

I've been selling firewood for about 18 months on a small scale where I work with the horses, selling about 30 cubic meters in nets. I've hired in local contractors with a processor to split my wood for me, but is a bit limiting and difficult to organise. I am applying for a grant to help me buy a splitter so I can up production next season and hopefully start local deliveries.

My question therefore is what splitter I should go for? The timber is 80% hornbeam with the rest being ash/oak/maple/sycamore mainly. Lovely stuff. It varies in diameter from 15" to 4".

Any suggestions for makes/models and suppliers would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Matt

Hi Matt,

What power do you have available? ie tractor etc? There are quite a few about and I've personally made a few of my own now. I think vertical are best as the logs I tend to get are quite lumpy so don't want to be lifting them up onto tables.... I get over the bad back thing by kneeling in front of the table which brings it tp waist height. If it's mainly more manhandlable stuff then a waist height table might suit your needs better. Have a look around and also decide your budget- there's a wide range out there!

Hi.

Good question, that would be quite important!! Needs to be self powered really access to a tractor can be difficult.

Needs to be able to split logs up to 3ft to make it worth doing. The wood is a real mix of sizes, some bits are really hefty. I know you can get some horizontal splitters with a cradle for loading, but I'm struggling to find suppliers or anyone who have used one to recommend.

Budget ideally would be around £1500.

Thanks!