Rope Wrench feedback

Hey Ian,

Kevin sent me one ages ago now and to be honest when i first got i didnt really get on with it. I found it good occasionally, say when throwing a high tip and only going up to remove a hanger but apart from that i just couldnt see the point. My rope walker for ascent and double rope for climbing seemed unbeatable in my eyes.

However, ive now been giving the wrench a lot more time and changing how i climb to accomodate its pros and cons a lot more.

Slack- really like how by moving 1:1 i eliminate slack a hell of a lot quicker. The 1:1 makes coming back in from the very ends of branches harder (installing a 3:1 makes things easier but 95% of the time i forget). The advantage of making temperory tips also allows you to use different angles to help the walk back in-again this takes time to remember to do and im still learning.

The single line is weird and sometimes unnerving after using double rope for so many years-it doesnt look right!

Im still not sure how to make temporary redis that i can get back to me without the wrench getting caught in the crotch though im sure this will come with time.

I prefer the wrench over the uni as the hitch feels more like a normal climbimg system.

I like how i can be climbing on a lowerable anchor system

I normally have the rope about 2m longer than the height of the tree, this prevents tangles and issues with rope getting snagged on brash. Being tied off does pose the threat of groundies cutting the rope but you can a, tie it higher up the stem out of saw reach but still lowerable or b, put a protecter sleeve around the standing part of the rope.

Overall i really rate the wrench-it wont replace my trad system but i wouldnt go to work without it either. Im way quicker ascending with croll,hand ascender but i like the way i can work straight away on the ascent with wrench. Get one but be prepared to be a learner again- im finding it fun having to relearn how to climb!!

• 3 weeks later...