Buying woodland

Hi, I've been lurking here for a while and found lots of interesting reading. I'm not an arb, but am interested in conservation and woodland management. I have no practical experience, but am learning fast and looking at ways to get my hands dirty.

Like lots of people I've been dreaming about buying some woodland for years. I've looked at quite a few, but never found the right deal at the right time. I've missed out on a couple of good ones though!

It looks like I may be in a better position to buy something soon, and have started looking a bit more seriously. The woodland needs to be in the south east, so I know that my money won't go as far as it might. It's not going to be a hard nosed "Dragons Den" type of investment, but I do want to make sure that it will support some sort of productive use - I'm not planning on making a living from it, but I'd like it to be a worthwhile part time job.

The plan, such as it is, would be to do a mixture of things depending on what suits. Probably some coppice products, maybe firewood, possibly some charcoal, and maybe an acre or two of Christmas trees.

What is the minimum size that would be worth considering? I was reckoning that less than ten acres probably wouldn't really be worthwhile, and that twenty would be better, with anything more an unlikely bonus. Does that sound about right?

The other hurdle is obviously finding somewhere to buy. I could probably afford a small woodland from "Woodlands for sale", but from what I have seen it would be too small, with relatively poor access, have restrictive covenants, and all at a premium price. So I probably need to be more creative.

With the potential sale of Forestry Commission property somewhere on the horizon maybe it's best to see what happens. There could be an opportunity to buy direct, or if not then there might be more woodland on the market. Does anyone have any idea how this might pan out?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply