Drying firewood - fast!

Stereo

Afternoon all, newbie here.

I've been cutting, seasoning firewood for many years and have an old Villager stove plus an Esse W23 woodfired stove which does cooking and hot water. The problem I have is that for the last year I have been flat out busy trying to save my company (credit crunch etc). I have just about succeeded at this but now find I have no wood stacked for the coming winter and no time penciled in to do it until Sept at the earliest. I have access to plenty of fallen trees and active coppice which I have managed, mainly beech and alder.

So, I'm thinking of ways to dry this stuff in a hurry. The Esse in particular is very fussy and wet wood will clog it in 2 days as well as not producing enough heat.

I was considering building a kiln or mud oven of some sort. Probably an oil drum on it's side up on 2 rows of blocks with a space for fire underneath. Then cover the whole thing over with earth, fill with wet logs, place a steel plate on the front with a vent gap at the top and light a hot fire underneath. Effectively, baking the logs. I have access to plenty of old pallets and other junk wood.

Anyone done this? A lot of Esse owners recommend drying wood in the bottom oven overnight but the way I see is that the moisture has to go somewhere when you do this and it's probably not up the chimney.

Do you reckon that a couple hours at say 200 degrees C would be enough to dry out green wood enough to produce good results?

The set up you've described is the start of a charcoal making process. We use it to season wood quickly for our kilns (a pre-burn or cooking burn) then the main burn means making charcoal with unseasoned wood is possible without being a tremendous waste of energy. Play with it a little & it will do exactly what you need, very well. It may take you a few goes to get he hang of it, not hot enough or long enough wont dry it out enough, to hot or too long will over do it. Good luck :)