Pete

Pete H

Good evening all,

I’m Pete from Bersham near Wrexham North Wales.  I’m a newbie here so be gentle, I’ve been a chainsaw user for many years mostly for home/farm use for trimming back and firewood. I have always maintained/repaired my own equipment, replacement of chains bars and dismantling of carb for running issues etc.

However, I have a problem with a MS 260 which my son bought second hand, it’s an old saw and up until now has never really been a problem.  I was experiencing starting problems leading up to this.

My reason for asking you professionals is that after cleaning the carb many times it starts, bogs down and in my opinion screams at high revs (weak mixture).  

After “rooting” around I believe that the carb fitted is incorrect, WT394.  Contacted Sthill and they have no record of my saw?  I know that the simple answer would be replace the carb but this is a puzzle I would like to get to the bottom of.  I was a mechanic by trade and my preference is to repair rather than replace, that to me is the easy option.

My apologies for an initial lengthy post, but I would be extremely grateful for some input/advice on this.

Thank you all,

Pete

38 minutes ago, Pete H said:

Good evening all,

I’m Pete from Bersham near Wrexham North Wales.  I’m a newbie here so be gentle, I’ve been a chainsaw user for many years mostly for home/farm use for trimming back and firewood. I have always maintained/repaired my own equipment, replacement of chains bars and dismantling of carb for running issues etc.

However, I have a problem with a MS 260 which my son bought second hand, it’s an old saw and up until now has never really been a problem.  I was experiencing starting problems leading up to this.

My reason for asking you professionals is that after cleaning the carb many times it starts, bogs down and in my opinion screams at high revs (weak mixture).