All round fitness - what do you do to maintain it?

Big J

As someone who doesn't use a great deal of fitness or strength in my work, if I don't do something to maintain it, I get 'skinny fat' in reasonably short shrift. It's been a bit challenging here in Devon, as the winter weather doesn't encourage you to want to be outside, so I've been largely gym based. Weights and indoor rower were the default, but the rower (and probably because I pushed myself too hard) impinged both my shoulders. That's now gone and my shoulders are 95% better again.

I've a list of niggles and injuries as my arm. A combination of growing too fast, doing too many sports to a fairly obsessive/high level and manual work. There isn't much that doesn't hurt at some point.

But at the moment I have a goal. Moving to somewhere with extensive outdoor opportunities (including some I've never tried before like skiing and ice skating) is encouraging me to get in shape.

So each week now I'm doing a couple of runs, a couple of bike rides and three shortish weights sessions. Some stretching and shoulder rehab too.

I'm hoping that once we're in Sweden (94 days and counting), I'll be able to incorporate plenty of swimming into the mix. The forest trails/roads are hugely extensive, so however much running/cycling I want to do, I can without ever really needing to go on a tarmac road.

I'm 37, nearly 38 and reasonably strong and fit, but also quite broken. What have others done as they've approached middle age to stay active and healthy? 

Photos of our daily swimming hole and running trails, for reference:

No description available.No description available.

• Like 2

Compound lifts, heavy enough to be a challenge but without getting into bodybuilder territory where injury becomes a risk.

It makes me laugh, almost every customer says "wow, I bet your job keeps you fit!". No love, all I do these days is pull levers and point fingers.

Edited by doobin
  • Like 1
  • Haha 2

7 minutes ago, doobin said: