Begginer at Wooden Crafts- best types of wood to use

Jzarty

Hello,

As the title suggests I am a beginner at this.

I intend to start making wooden jewellery and would appreciate any help and advice on the best types of wood to use.

I have hand wooden craft tools and intend to do this all by hand.

Thank  you 🙂

1 hour ago, Jzarty said:

Hello,

I intend to start making wooden jewellery and would appreciate any help and advice on the best types of wood to use.

Thank  you 🙂

Joinery grade softwood would be the cheapest but not always the easiest to work but cheap to replace if you are making mistakes. Joints are easiest to cut in close grained woods like beech. Tulipwood is also easy to work and as soft as butter but not very pretty but paints very well.

Sure other will chip and good luck in your new hobby 😃

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Jzarty said:

Hello,

Thank  you 🙂

Where are you about roughly in the country, if you are near me I will drop you off a few branches of sycamore, as said above good wood to work with, often used for making wooden spoons.

• Like 2

Hellllllllllllloooooooooooooooo everyone.

WOW thank you so much for the quick responses.  Much appreciated from Woodworks; agg221; roys; gary112.  I live Scotland near a forest so I do have plenty trees to choose from.  Just need to know the type of trees LOL.  Special thanks to @roys for your offer  - that is so sweet of you.  I think I maybe a bit too far from ya?  I have taken down all your advice in my notes.  Will let you know how I get on with my new  interest.

1 hour ago, Woodworks said:

Joinery grade softwood would be the cheapest but not always the easiest to work but cheap to replace if you are making mistakes. Joints are easiest to cut in close grained woods like beech. Tulipwood is also easy to work and as soft as butter but not very pretty but paints very well.

Sure other will chip and good luck in your new hobby 😃

• Like 1